Thread: Been reading "Clubland" by Frank Owen.

1. #1 Been reading "Clubland" by Frank Owen. 
    I'm a Librarian on the weekends and found this while shelving books. It's really entertaining.

Outrageous parties. Brazen drug use. Fantastical costumes. Celebrities. Wannabes. Gender-bending club kids. Pulse-pounding beats. Sinful orgies. Botched police raids. Depraved criminals. Murder.

Welcome to the decadent nineties club scene.

In 1995, journalist Frank Owen began researching a story on Special K, a designer drug that fueled the after-midnight club scene. He went to buy and sample the drug at the internationally notorious Limelight, a crumbling church converted into a Manhattan disco, where mesmerizing music, ecstatic dancers, and uninhibited sideshows attracted long lines of hopeful onlookers. Owen discovered a world where reckless hedonism was elevated to an art form, and where the ever-accelerating party finally spun out of control in the hands of notorious club owner Peter Gatien and his minions. In Clubland, Owen reveals how a lethal drug ring operated in a lawless, black-lit realm of fantasy, and how, when the lights came up, their excesses left countless victims in their wake.

Praised for his risk-taking and exhilarating writing style, Frank Owen has spawned a hybrid of literary nonfiction and true crime, capturing the zeitgeist of a world that emerged in the spirit of “peace, love, unity and respect,” and ended in tragedy.

2. #2 Re: Been reading "Clubland" by Frank Owen. 
    That was the book that Party Monster was based on, right?

3. #3 Re: Been reading "Clubland" by Frank Owen. 
    Party Monster was based on the book "Disco Bloodbath" by James St. James.

From what I can tell, it looks like "Clubland" takes place in the same club but maybe at a later time?

4. #4 Re: Been reading "Clubland" by Frank Owen. 
    Quote Originally Posted by tejano mullet View Post